Did you know Florida’s Move Over Law has changed? Here’s what you need to know to stay safe on the highway.
Florida’s Move Over Law, which was enacted in 2002, protects law enforcement officers, emergency workers, and tow truck drivers who are stopped on the highway performing their jobs. And effective July 2014, the law now also includes sanitation vehicles and utility service vehicles.
The Move Over Law states that all vehicle motorists on a two or more lane roadway are required to move over a lane or slow their vehicles when approaching an emergency or utility vehicle that has its lights flashing.
Here is what motorists should remember to stay safe:
- If the highway has two lanes, motorists must slow to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit.
- If the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less, motorists must slow down to 5 mph.
- If the roadway has multiple lanes, motorists must move their vehicles over one lane away from the emergency vehicle as soon as it is safe to do so. If drivers are unable to move over a lane, they must slow their vehicles to 20 mph less than the posted speed limit. Unless directed by a law enforcement officer, motorists should not stop their vehicles completely. They should keep their focus on the road in front of them and keep moving.
Failure to comply with this law could result in a citation, which might include costly fees and points added to the motorist’s driver’s license. But more importantly, failure to comply could result in serious injury or even death to public safety professionals and other motorists.
Blue Streak wants you to stay safe on the roadways. Please remember to remain alert while operating a vehicle. Pay attention to the road and avoid any distractions when you are behind the wheel.
Please visit www.flhsmv.gov/fhp for more information.